University Of The Aegean (UAegean)

The University of the Aegean (UAegean) is a public university, founded in 1984. Since then it has evolved into an international research–oriented University offering 18 undergraduate and 28 postgraduate programs in modern interdisciplinary thematic areas such as environment, communication systems, cultural informatics, product design, food and nutritional sciences, education design and Mediterranean studies.

The Department of Marine Sciences is situated at the eastern part of the Aegean archipelago and is the only university department in Greece that offers Bachelor, Master and Ph.D. degrees in Oceanography. It stands at the forefront of marine research through observation, theory, modelling and technological innovation. It collaborates with leading marine research institutes and relevant international organizations (e.g. UNEP). Research in the Department of Marine Sciences covers a broad range of subjects related to the marine environment, such as climate change, ecosystem functioning and health, marine biology and ecology, fisheries, aquaculture and marine resources, marine spatial planning, physical oceanography, integrated coastal zone geohazards and management, and development of new instruments and methods in oceanography. More info:


Stelios Katsanevakis

Associate Professor

University of the Aegean - Department of Marine Sciences

Lofos Panepistimiou GR 81100, Mytilini, Lesvos, Greece
Τ: +30 22510 36821
F: +30 22510 36809
Ε: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


  • +30 2109856701
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Us

PROTOMEDEA stands for "Towards the establishment of Marine Protected Area Networks in the Eastern Mediterranean"

The project will be running for 36 months, from December 2015 to November 2018

and the level of funding amounts to EUR 600.000.